cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

2112miller

Give me the strength

Today is my 1st day of quitting smoking (Again)
I have been smoking off & on for over 50 years.
I'm done. I am sick of smoking.
Lord give me the strength this time

Labels (1)
17 Replies
JACKIE1-25-15

He will give you the strength to do the work. Yes work.  It takes work to quit smoking. First you have to be willing to make a commitment to do whatever it takes not to take a puff no matter what is happening in your life NOPE not one puff ever.  Ask yourself. Are you willing to do that? Because that is the bottom line of a successful quit.  
Are you willing? click on this link and get started.  https://excommunity.becomeanex.org/groups/sinao/blog/2019/08/25/are-you-willing?sr=search&searchId=0... If you are willing your are ready.  He will give you the strength. Not on your own willpower but on your willingness to let it go. 

YoungAtHeart

Welcome to our community!

Congratulations on your decision to quit smoking.  It is one you will never regret.  A successful quit takes more than strong will!  It takes education and a willingness to change up some things and to work at others.

The important thing you can do right now is to educate yourself on what nicotine does to your body and mind. To that end, I highly recommend Allen Carr's “The Easy Way to Stop Smoking.”    You can search for it online or at your local library.  Here is a video to inform you further about nicotine addiction: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IpWMgPHn0Lo&feature=youtu.be.

Let me know if you are using a quit aid and I will give you my thoughts on them.