cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

Smoke or quit and have a heart attack

My sister sent me to this site. She has been smoke free (cold turkey) for about 2 weeks now. Oh how I admire my baby sister for quitting. She has 3 kids, I have 1. My son hates that I smoke and I do too. Only one problem: I have been overly stressed at work (we fired half our staff, I am working 10-12 hour days!), school (I am a college student) and at home (SIngle mother). I went for a physical last week and my Dr. told me I need to quit stressing or I will have a heart attack but she recommended that I do not try ot quit smoking while I am under so much stress???? Could it be its my pacifier? I also dont want to gain any MORE weight and that is a reason I have not actively tried to quit. Any tricks or suggestions to help me get started? I cannot use Chantix - for medical reasons and Wellbutrion (Zyban) was ineffective. I know this is a psychological addiction but I am hooked. I am 32 and have been smoking for 19 years! I really need help before the stress and/or the smoking send me to an early grave and my son to an orpanage.....
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
6 Replies
patti8

Hi ~ I understand about the stress ~ I am also a single mom with a challenging job - never enough hours in the day or enough money!! I think about quitting every day, more than once....My son is 8 and gets really mad at me about smoking because I've tried and failed so many times ......It's wonderful that your sister has quit !! I would imagine she'll be great inspiration for you (and me today)