cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

yano.hrndz

I told myself I'd quit when I turned 30

Hey y'all. I told myself for a few years now that I'd quit all forms of tobacco when I turned 30. I mostly stopped smoking cigarettes last October and switched over to Juul products instead, thinking that it was a step in a better direction. My 30th birthday came and went during quarantine, in April, and I'm still throwing away money every two or three days on a four-pack of pods. I feel stupid because I've been telling myself since I was a kid that I wasn't going to be addicted to nicotine. I deal with depression, anxiety, and this Covid situation has certainly made matters worse. I can only imagine how difficult it will be when I start on my set quit date (7/29) and moving forward. This is my first time committing to quitting. If anyone has any advice, please reach out. Thanks for reading.

7 Replies
sweetplt

Again hello yano.hrndz and Welcome to Ex’s...I wrote on your other post some suggestions to quitting smoking.  Unfortunately, you switched one addiction (smoking) with another (vaping).  Many of us deal with depression and anxiety...if your’s is a medical diagnosis, you should speak to your Doctor and tell him / her you are quitting smoking and how can they help you will your depression/anxiety while you start the quit process...Keep close to the support site.  We are here to help...Colleen 590 DOF

Barbscloud

I responded on your other post also about NRT.

Barb

RoseH

Waiting so far out to quit will just make any of us crazy!  And, in my own humble opinion, we don’t smoke and “wait to become addicted” to the drug, Nicotine...  From my first puff, yano.hrndz,  I was addicted and it took me too long to realize that so I now have COPD which means I have to inhale two drugs each day to keep my lungs clear, as those people, who have never smoked...