cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

Body says it's time my brain says no

Hey, I'm still learning how all this works, not too tech savvy. I've been extremely busy, funny I work in health care. My body and the world are strongly telling me it's time to quit but my brain is giving me a hard time. I've started chantix, I keep putting off taking next pill and so on but I'm forcing myself to take it, I know it's for the best but gosh why does it have to be so hard, I need to quit. Hope y'all have had good smoke free day. Stay safe.

14 Replies
avian3

The two weeks before I quit i constantly worried about how my life would ever be fully satisfying without smoking. How would I enjoy after meal smokes, watching TV, enjoying nature, having conversations with friends, having a glass of wine, felling stressed angry or content. 

It took time, determination and strength but is so worth it. We are no different than you what we had to go through and just as addicted. If we can do it, then you can to. You just have to put all you have into it and you will be successful.

Thank you for your support and kindness! 

sweetplt

Hi and Welcome to Ex’s shannon3colbert 

Glad you found our site.  I am so happy you want to quit smoking....Continue taking your Chantix as directed...May I suggest, you read at My EX Plan | BecomeAnEX where you will plan your quit date and plan for that day like no other.  Also, come here often and get help and/or encourage others.  We are all in this journey together.  So much of this is mental and telling ourselves we don’t need to smoke...but in the beginning it it keeping the quit and taking things “one moment at a time”...You can do this...it takes work, but is so doable...we are here to help...Colleen 514 DOF 

Barbscloud