cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

blakesgigi

Anyone else chew nic gum?

I have alternated smoking and chewing the gum when I "quit" for the past year.  And I would only smoke in my garage where no one could see me, stupid right???  Just wondering if anyone else feels the strong addiction to nicotine by using the gum too long.  There is NO SUCH THING AS ONE CIG:(  Truly there isn't.....

39 Replies
MarilynH

Hummm I don't know and I'm not very tech savvy to post links but I'll do a mention to JonesCarpeDiem and he can most likely help you with that question.....

As long as you use nicotine in any form you will feel the physical addiction to it.

Using it is a choice.

There are some who have chewed the gum for 5-10-15 years

They quit smoking but remained nicotine addicts.

It costs the same as smoking.

It still cuts circulation in your gums, ruining your teeth.                

GrandmaCj

I'm glad you posted this message because I was just going to ask about the gum. I quit June 3rd and I started with the patches and went through process with that. I'm not a cold turkey type of person. I also chewed gum maybe twice a day and I'm still chewing the gum. I was thinking that I might try to switch to sugar free gum. Especially since the nicotine gum can have a lot of problems as well. Have a good day and thank you 

Caroline
0 Kudos
Barbscloud

@GrandmaCj Maybe you'll find this helpful about nicotine replacement.

Nicotine Replacement - Yes or No? - EX Community

Barb

GrandmaCj

Thanks @Barbscloud that was some great info. Still chugging along smoke free. One thing I find hard is I live alone and I don't have anyone to come and talk to me or to go and talk to. So I'm grateful that y'all have this site. So many nice and interesting people. Thank you 😊

Caroline
Carol6