cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

hihonu

How do you//should you wean off quitting aides + meds?

This is my first attempt quitting, and I'm using quitting aides (i.e. nicotine gum and lozenges) which really do help. Now that I'm thinking about the next step, I want to be FULLY nicotine free eventually. Should I eventually wean off the nicotine aides too? When should that be?? How would I even do that! So many questions. Any advice or personal experiences would be greatly appreciated! xoxo

0 Kudos
9 Replies
JACKIE1-25-15

The gum and lozenges have instructions to go with them.  You use them according to how much you smoked.  The gum and lozenges usually is a 12-week process of reducing intake. www.nicorette.com https:

//www.nicorette.com/about-nicorette/how-to-use-nicorette-gum.html?gclid=Cj0KCQiAr8bwBRD4ARIsAHa4YyJv...

sweetplt

HI and Welcome to Ex’s

I wish I could help out, but I didn’t use NRT...I see many here say “you must follow the directions on the box”...most wean you down....Congratulations on quitting....that is super...glad you joined our site...Colleen 399 DOF 

Barbscloud

Same as Jackie advised!  Follow the instructions and then wean yourself off of them.  I've used several NRT's over the years and didn't have any problem stopping them.  Congrats on your decision to quit and continued success on your journey.

Barb

I stopped using the patch when I forgot to put it on two days in a row. I put one in my wallet with the promise I would put it on rather than smoke. It stayed in my wallet my first year.

For your situation I suggest listening to your body.

It's okay to test yourself. (just don't torture yourself)

Relapse rate for people who use NRT's is the same at 6 months as those who don't.

0 Kudos
YoungAtHeart