cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

Augustus44

Quitting and Memories On The Back Deck

Friends: 

I am a novice at this quitting ordeal. I am now down the road 22 days (cold turkey), having quit because i had a medical scare that fortunately is resolved. During the "scare" I was asked how long i had smoked--which is a lifetime. I'm 75 and healthy. The Doctor told me that smoking causes many problems besides lung cancer. My problem was with my bladder--too grizzly to talk about here. Before I got to the emergency room, I promised that if I could "get out of the woods" on this  problem that i would quit smoking. So agin 22 days have passed and I've been lucky so far. I've had withdrawal symptoms that last for a short time, but I have told myself that these moments will pass quickly. Today, this morning, I am just thinking about how i enjoyed smoking on the back deck--a few puffs, and a reward for something either trivial, or trying, the I had accomplished or overcome. In short, my memory of the disgust I felt over smiling in the first place, and the euphoric feeling I had when I first quit, is now a memory. Anybody out there know how to beat this memory that smoking was actually pleasurable? I don't want to slip. GK

HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

4 Replies
YoungAtHeart

Welcome to our community!

Congratulations on sticking with your decision to quit and your first 22 days!

The important thing you can do right now is to educate yourself on what nicotine does to your body and mind. To that end, I highly recommend Allen Carr's “The Easy Way to Stop Smoking.” This is an easy and entertaining read. You can search for it online or at your local library.  After you have completed it, you will understand that what you thought smoking did for you was all a lie - easier to stay quit if you realize it actually did nothing FOR you and so much TO you!