cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

Texadonia

Should I start all over again?

I'm a newbie here, trying to get through Day 14 after 50 years of smoking. Yesterday, I ran across a half-inch long cigarette butt on my front deck. It was mine, the remnant of the last cigarette I smoked before I left for a quit smoking retreat in Florida. It was tucked in a plant saucer that I sometimes used as an ashtray. 

There was no hesitation. I ran in the house to grab the one lighter I had kept on hand for lighting candles. Then I ran outside and fired up the butt. I took three quick hits before my rational self took over and destroyed the butt. 

My question to the community is this: Did I just relapse? Do I have the "right" to say today that I've been quit for 14 days or do I have to start all over again? 

Thanks

36 Replies
cfbays

It’s very unfortunate but you have to start over. The good thing is by being honest with yourself you are actually helping yourself to stay quit this next time. Get up, dust yourself off and learn form this. You got this. If you can go 14 days you can go 28 days and so on. Don’t be too hard on yourself and don’t give up. Hang around this site. There are a lot of people here hat can give you a lot of good advice and support. I’m a newbie with only 10 days quite under my belt but I have overcome drug addiction now for over 21 years and I do know it takes real effort on our part not to pick up. You got this; start over and kick this addiction in the butt! - cfbays

Texadonia

Thanks, cf. I really appreciate your input. I still think I'll call this a slip, since I didn't relapse or buy a pack and start smoking all over again. This site has some great information, as do you. I'm glad I came in and appreciate the advice!

Melinda

I'd call it a slip too but, you gave yourself permission. Starting again is what keeps us accountable 

Barbscloud