cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

Sjumper

Will I be able to focus at work on my first day of quitting?

My quit day is tomorrow. I've tried before and only got through half the day before experiencing extreme migraines and cravings and turning back. I'm wondering if on my first quit day, will it effect my performance at my job. Is working good to help keep your mind off of it, even though my smoking is embedded into my work routine? Thank you

7 Replies
PastTense

Hello, Sjumper and welcome to the group!!

I'm excited for your quit. 

I am still a newbie here myself, but have 12 DOF (days of freedom) and I can tell you what worked for me.

Have a written quit plan.  Think about your smoke triggers - especially at work - and have a plan for what you will do instead.  If you usually take a smoke break at 9:15, have a plan to go for a walk on the other side of the building, for instance.  Or treat yourself to a soda from the (non-smoking) break room.  If you usually smoke with other people, be prepared with what you will tell them.  Having a plan will help you focus and stay quit.

Are you quitting cold-turkey or are you using some kind of help?  If you are using meds or NRT (like the patch or gum); make sure you read and follow the instructions.

Have you made yourself a Quit Kit?  That really helped me.  I had straws (chew on them, puff on them, fiddle with them), sugar-free mints, sugar-free gum in 5 flavors, and sugar-free cough drops.  The cough drops were the most helpful, I think.  Water Bottle - sipping water is a great way to take your mind off smoking.  Sipping water through a straw combined several quit helps.

The number one help for me was coming to this site and reading or blogging instead of going on a smoke break

I'll be looking for your first day pledge tomorrow!

PT

12 DOF

Keep the Quit
PT
Sjumper

Thank you SO much for your reply!