cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

Corp1982

I'm new and need advice.

I have been smoking for 23 years. I really want to quit. I'm tired of feeling unhealthy. I want to breath better, exercise and do physical activity without being out of breath. I have tried several times to quit smoking

Any tips or any advice where to start and how to deal with cravings urges and so forth? 

5 Replies
JACKIE1-25-15

.   Quitting is doable.  You have come to the right place for support.  I believe that education is the key to successfully quit. It is suggested to read Allen Carr's Easyway to Quit Smoking which can be found on pdf on the web.  Another good site to get info is www.whyquit.com.  There are several articles to read.  Nicotine 101 and Freedom From Nicotine My Journey Home.  Quitting takes planning and preparation go to EX Plan | BecomeAnEX to decide how you are going to go about quitting. To get help on navigating the site go to. Community Help‌.  Make quitting smoking your number one priority. Start by getting rid of anything associated with smoking such as ashtrays, lighters, etc.  You can do this if you make up your mind that you can.  Relearning your thinking that you do not have to smoke is a good beginning. For a while, you will think about smoking but that does not mean you have to act on it.  You can talk yourself out of smoking.  No matter what never ever take another puff.  NOPE.  Take smoking off the table as an option and do something different. 101 Things to Do Instead of Smoke SINAO smoking is not an option.  That is NOPE concept Not one puff ever. Be willing to do the work.  Quitting is the easy part.  Staying quit is work.  Learning to protect your quit will keep on your journey forever freedom. One day at a time.  Never give up, never give in. Hang tough Stay Close. 

maryfreecig

Welcome to Ex.