cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

Throwbvibe

6 Months and I'm Just Now Craving Badly. Danger!

Hi 

I'm a newbie.  I quit on Feb 5 cold Turkey after 19 years of smoking an average of half a pack a day.  This was honestly a pretty pain free quit.  I think being in a different city with family helped.  I also started on a low dosage antidepressant for my anxiety/ depression issues.  Its helped.  What also helped my quit was this bout of hypochondria I had right around my quit.  I've worked through that in the past few months.

My surroundings haven't changed but these past 2 weeks i've had serious craves! I'm also getting very depressed about the idea of never smoking.  The thought of everything i used to enjoy feels boring and meaningless without it. I used to love playing poker; having a drink with friends; playing pool etc.  When I return to my hometown I cant picture doing any of those things without smoking. The thought of it depresses me and makes me anxious . I've began to rationalize a few cigs pr returning to Hookahs which I smoked when I quit cigs fot a few years.  The scary part is I'm even rationalizing just becoming a life long smoker - "we gotta die somehow!"  Yeah I'm at that level of denial. 

Please help. This feels like torture. I'm 6 months in and I now feel like its day 2!

28 Replies
AnnetteMM

Hello and welcome! You may be new to us, but you are no Newbie! In fact, at 6 months nicotine free you are officially in No Man's Land, and everything you're feeling is absolutely normal. READ:https://excommunity.becomeanex.org/groups/best-of-ex/blog/2011/05/24/no-mans-land-days-30-to130-appr... 

Throwbvibe

Thank you.  Can no mans land kick in later? I'm beyond 130 days.

0 Kudos
AnnetteMM

It's a state of mind and those days are just a guideline. If the description resonates with you, you're there.

Barbara145