cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

George-Martin

When to quit

So I appreciate all the replies I got to first post!

I quit for two days - almost- this last week and broke.  When i started back I could really feel what the nicotine was doing to my nerves even after quitting for that short period- when i started back - I felt more panicky- I got relief at first but quickly I could feel how these cigarettes make me feel sick!

The cigarettes don't calm nerves- they make them worse- I could defintely feel the difference just from stopping for a few days- the cravings just overwhelmed me.

I really want to go for this again soon-  I am a musician and have a pretty busy week coming up- maybe its good to go ahead and start quit ASAP- being busy might be a good thing?- although i set it for a week from tomorrow

Any Thoughts?

Thanks to All

13 Replies
Barbara145

You get to chose your quit day.  Glad you saw how smoking makes it more difficult to cope.  It is so true.  You can do this.

YoungAtHeart

Staying busy is KEY in the early days, so I would recommend you go for it.  We have a member here who also is a musician.  I will tag him here (JonesCarpeDiem‌) so he might share his early journey.  If I remember correctly, he played music for the first two weeks of his quit!

Remember there is never a good reason to smoke - there are only excuses.  You need to keep a cold bottle of water handy from which to sip, and perhaps some sugar free gum or mints.  Some folks have used cut up straws and even pulled air through them. Any kind of exercise is a good thing to fit in - even marching in place works.

Stay close to us and blog "HELP" before you light up again and give us time to talk you off the ledge!

Nancy

Beck37