cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

patriciaporem

I'm new to this.

I have copd and I'm in the hospital again with pneumonia. I love to smoke so this is almost impossible to do. I need to quit!!!!!

13 Replies
Barbscloud

Welcome to the Ex.  You think you love to smoke because you're addicted to nicotine. I know the feeling and so do many others on this site.  That's why it is imperative to educate yourself about this addiction to be successful.  We've been brain washed about smoking and how we need it to survive the good times and the bad.  Most of us have tried numerous times to quit. I smoked for 50 years and just celebrated my 1 year anniversary.  So, it is possible if you're willing to do the work.  The support on this site has made the difference for me this time.  You should be hearing soon from some other Exers with specific material to read.  In the meantime, spend sometime reading posts from current quitters.  Some are old and some are new, but everyone has something to offer.  You'll find people that know just what you're going through and you'll find a new normal.   Pick a quit date, educate yourself and prepare for your quit.  Look forward to celebrating your quit date. We're here to support you every step of the way.

Bab

JACKIE1-25-15

Welcome to EX you have come to the right place for support.  
Quitting is doable but you have to be WiLLINg to Change your MINDset.  First, you start to reprogramming your thinking from no to yes I can do this.   It is not that you love to smoke so much as you are an addict and want to nicotine.  The other part are just rituals that you can get rid of.  You do not have to smoke.  Your brain has been telling you the wrong thing.  Switch the brain to tell yourself that you do not need to have a cigarette.  With education it is possible to quit.  Education holds the key to success.