cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

BugsNBats14

TELEVISION SMOKERS

Perhaps I just didn't notice previously, but now that I am a 62 day EX smoker, it seems that I see more and more tv characters smoking and many are chain smoking.  On tv shows, NETFLIX originals, PRIME, HULU, theater movies, etc.

Does this bother anyone else?

Or is it because I am a Newbie?

14 Replies
Giulia

We were all so ignorant, had no knowledge, no education and just ate it up:

The "miracle of Marlboros"  Amazing what they fed us, isn't it?!

But yes, even today they promote the heck out of cigarettes.  We are just more aware of it because we've quit.  No doubt the more modern movies, tv shows will start showing Juuls as the "cool" thing to do.  I was going to put up a link to "Actors that make cigarette smoking look cool Part 2" but it kind of reminded me of what I think I miss once in a blue moon, and that would be a stupid video to put up.  What I learned from it was - all of those smoking scenes that made the character seem "cool" could have been done in other ways - simply by certain gestures.

To answer your question - yes, it's bothersome to see all these movies with people smoking in them.  But we've only become aware of it because we've quit.  It was always right there in front of our uneducated noses.  It's good that you're noticing it.  Means you're beginning the separation process.

TW517