cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

tony3

Help! This one isn't huge, but it sucks anyway.

I smoke at my computer... chain smoke at my computer actually. I am also a writer and write for online publications, so I need to be at my computer for a good 4-8 hours a day.
My quit date is October 16th, and have tried moving my ashtray away from the computer which seems to work a little bit, but it also frustrates me when I have a deadline to meet and I have to leave my desk every time I want to light up. I'm worried that the frustration might derail me, considering both my partner and my room mate smoke (my room mate smokes the same brand as me) so I have pretty easy access to cigs when I'm at home alone.
I've quit before, but I was working a brick and mortar job at the time, and it was easy to just not go into the smokers lounge on my breaks and that eliminated 8 hours of almost every day. This time is going to be difficult.
Tags (1)
0 Kudos
4 Replies
John48

This is going to be tough so be prepared to do it. I used to chain smoke at my computer as well and spent all day on it. I am unemployed and spent the day editing cover letters or my resume. Other times I was on here looking at my motorcycle forum threads. I completely connected smoking (out back on my patio- no smoking in the house) with being on my computer. At the time I couldn't imagine thinking clearly, typing/drafting/editing on the computer without smoking. It is possible though but prepare yourself for the difficulty.

Is there any way to put your work on the computer on hold for a few days to a week until you can get over the initial hump of quitting?

Can you take your work to the public library inside or maybe a smoke-free cafe on your laptop and work there? (Don't bring cigs with you)