cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

lizn2angels

Harder at Home

Does anybody else feel like it is harder to fight the cravings at home than it is at work?

I thought for sure, work would be worse because a cigarette is so readily available.  Plenty of friends from smoke breaks, a little coffee shop right in the middle of our building that sells cigarettes.  But it was actually harder for me at home.  Between the constant messes, and the kids fighting, and if that phone rings one more time with a bill collector on the other end I'm gonna rip it out of the wall!!! 

Anybody else feel like that sometimes?  If not, thanks for letting me vent.

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
3 Replies
bikergirl1031

Hello! I just found this site today & joined this group. This is my 8th time quitting, I have been smoking for over 33 years but I will do my best to give some tips here.

Personally I find that work is actually easier than home because we can keep ourselves busy at work & we are limited to our breaks.

At home it is tough because there are a LOT of triggers there. Especially since you have kids but you can do this!!!!! Keep your hands busy. I am looking into making flavored toothpicks so I can still get the hand to mouth action when I am on the phone. That is something I ALWAYS miss when I quit, the hand to mouth & the drag, so I hear that toothpicks will really help keep me on the right track. Stress, anxiety & frustration are triggers of mine too so I am going to make EVERY effort to stay smoke free or as I am calling it today, I want to "breathe free".  My goals are to exercise, that ALWAYS helps when I am stressed or frustrated. I can take it out in a healthy way. Breathing deep also does help when you are in a stressful situation.

I hope some of tyhis helps. We can do this!!!! Don't give in!!!!!! If you do don't beat yourself up just dust yourself off & get back on the horse so to speak! Good luck!