cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

jer2019

Cilia

Hey there, I'm new to this forum I have a question and I'm hoping someone can help. I'm 24 years old and I've been smoking for 4 years now. I'm going on 85 hours cigarette free .I'm not having any withdraws just besides sweating. The problem is the Celia recovery. I'm having trouble sleeping because I cannot stop coughing. I've tried a hot shower and it seems to help little. Is there anything someone on here has tried that relieved the cough from Celia recovery in the lungs . It's like I constantly have to cough.  Please help  thanks in advance 

0 Kudos
9 Replies
TW517

I'm sure everyone is different, but nothing helped my cough.  It was pretty bad for a about week, then slowly got better until pretty much all gone by 3 weeks.

YoungAtHeart

Welcome to our community!

Congratulations on your decision to quit smoking and your first 3 days.  You are doing GREAT!  A lot of people experience sleep problems, so the cough might just be in addition to that.  Everybody's quit is different - but I CAN tell you that it will subside - however, I can't tell you when.  You might try an herbal tea with lemon and honey before bed - or maybe a warm air vaporizer in your bedroom? I am very happy to read you are quitting at such a young age.

The important thing you can do right now is to educate yourself on what nicotine does to your body and mind. To that end, I highly recommend Allen Carr's “The Easy Way to Stop Smoking.” This is an easy and entertaining read. You can search for it online or at your local library. Here's a link to a video here on the site which describes nicotine addiction: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IpWMgPHn0Lo&feature=youtu.be.