cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

RLS1962

How long will my cough last?

I’ve been Quit smoking for 6 days and I’m still coughing . How long will this last?

10 Replies
YoungAtHeart

Welcome to our community!

Congratulations on your decision to quit smoking and your first 6 days.  You are almost finished H#ll Week.  Good for you!

I am not a doctor, so it's difficult for me to answer your question.  Have you been diagnosed with COPD?  If so, you might need to use any prescribed inhalers.  If not, you may just be cleaning the gunk from the cilia lining your bronchial tubes and your lungs of that accumulated over your years of smoking.  If the cough hangs on, it would be wise to have it checked by a doctor.

The important thing you can do right now is to educate yourself on what nicotine does to your body and mind. To that end, I highly recommend Allen Carr's “The Easy Way to Stop Smoking.” This is an easy and entertaining read. You can search for it online or at your local library. Here's a link to a video here on the site which describes nicotine addiction: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IpWMgPHn0Lo&feature=youtu.be.

You should also read the posts here and perhaps go to the pages of folks who you think might be helpful. You might visit whyquit.com, quitsmoking.com and livewell.com for the good information contained there. @https://excommunity.becomeanex.org/groups/best-of-ex has lots of blogs written by members of this site with their experiences and guidance.