cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

Shumba

Discouraging Questions

Hi Fam, what is the most discouraging or weird question you have ever been asked on addiction?

I must confess that I am always judged about my addiction. The issue has been a nuisance and at some point I was even depressed as it is not anyone fault to be an addict. Everyone has their own side of the story on how they ended up being addicts. It is thus unfair for anyone to judge you before hearing your side of the story and what you are doing about it. The only place I find consolation is my family who have always stand by me throughout. I am now 1month sober and thanks to them I feel loved, appreciated and encouraged to continue.I am sure some of us have also undergone the same. 

29 Replies
Mommamich

My only addiction has been smoking so as to other addictions I have no experience. I can say that I never considered tobacco an addiction but always wondered why people drank or did drugs. How hypocritical of me. Of course my husband nor my children smoke so they always looked at me with disgust as to my stupid choices. I guess we all judge what we don't understand.

Shumba

I like your thought. People are prone to pass judgement but they don't know what a person is going through

elvan

Congratulations on your month of freedom, I would have to say that the most discouraging thing ever said to me was said over and over again..."oh, you'll smoke again"..."how many times have you quit so far?"  To be fair, I quit so many times that I lost track myself.

No one wants to be an addict...ever ask a kid what they want to be when they grow up and have them answer..."I want to be a junkie."  NOPE

Ellen

Shumba

Thanks Elvan

Barb102