cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

Werdna

10 days after hospitilization: DX commumnity acquired bacterial pnuemonia

10 days out of hospital. 17 days no smoking. NRT: 14mg patch and nicotine gum. I am still having horrible cravings especially when I used to start making gourmet dinner and have a drink. I don't really miss the morning cig with coffee. The day before the craving lasted all day. I can't ever go back but that little voice keeps saying "3 a day won't hurt." I know it will. I'll be back to 10 cigs a day again. Have figured out some ways to deal, but when the big urge hits it is so hard. I had been smoking since 16 years old.60 years of smoking!!!!!!!! I need novel ways to help bust that urge.

Thanks in advance.

6 Replies
AnnetteMM

Welcome and congratulations! If you search the site you'll find lots of great blogs about how to beat cravings and stay quit. Here's one to get you started:

/blogs/Youngatheart.7.4.12-blog/2013/02/25/100-things-to-do-instead-of-smoke 

GyorgyiM

One quickly...

Take slow deep breaths and long exhales (just like when you were hitting on a cigarette ) and then smile becuase you just exercised your lungs by expanding them as you did when you smoked, except without the NICOTINE!!!

A lot of the urges are just old habits.....

Hope this helps some....

Miles of Smiles....

Daniela2016