cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

s_black2681

Day before Day 1

I found this website today but I had already planned to quit smoking tomorrow. The thought of quitting has me feeling really anxious and Idon'tknow why. I am 37 and I have been smoking for almost 20 years with multiple short attempts to quit. I am really tired of smoking and this summer is going to be entirely too hot to be standing outside trying to breathe and smoke. Plus I am working on lossing weight and getting in shape but the shortness of breath is limiting my endurance. So I am looking forward to a smoke free life so why am I so anxious about quitting?

0 Kudos
4 Replies
JACKIE1-25-15

Being anxious about quitting smoking is a normal reaction.  The best way to get over the anxiety is to put energy in planning an preparing your quit.  How are you going to do it is the question you should be asking yourself.  You are at the right point if you have become tired of smoking.  You also have found the right place to support you in your decision to quit smoking.  So Welcome.  Quitting smoking requires a lot of work and education.  It is not easy but it is a doable challenge.  Start by educating yourself about the addiction to nicotine.  Here is a link to help you on that point. Freedom from Nicotine - The Journey Home: free PDF version   To get started on the site go to top right and click on my quit plan and get started.  Also I recommend reading Allen Carr’s book, “Easy Easier Way to Quit Smoking”.       

0 Kudos
maryfreecig

Twenty years of puffing on cigarettes (it's a nicotine addiction) will do that to you as you face quitting. Going without is all new. You haven't really been there since twenty years. But the anxiety is faceable and now you have Ex which is here for you every day of the week as much as you want it.

It will get easier. Welcome to Ex. Yes you can, one day at a time.

0 Kudos
elvan