cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

wvunursgrad

Made it through day 1.....feels like forever to go

Just quit smoking today. I am on Day 8 of Chantix, and wow, this drug is really working. I haven't had any physical withdrawl, just all emotional. I already miss going out on my deck, lighting up, and having 5 minutes of peace and quiet to myself. Anyways, I have been smoking on and off for 8 years and have tried quitting multiple times without full success. I really want this time to be different. I am a closet smoker, a super closet smoker, so I am hoping to find some support here.
Tags (1)
0 Kudos
5 Replies

I'm on the patch, it seems to work too.Weaned my way down off of 1 pack for about a week and am now on day 3 free. With desire, it will get easier. Gonna continue with patches but I think I've got it whipped. Good Luck
0 Kudos
karen-p.-fate

WVU-

I just hit day 21....still alive and I have not been disowned by family or friends....as of yet. I have found that I have an exteme sense of smell, that at times I wished I didn't, and have found that instead of being emotionally unstable during this time....I am just plain blunt and to the point (I don't know what's worse).

I have smoked off and on for almost 30 years. I am what you would consider a "closet smoker" as well, especially these last 10 plus years. I've never smoked much (5 or less a day on average ) and have quit here and there - a couple of years, couple of months, etc.

When I decided to quit, it was just that....I threw the smokes away and then informed everyone that I was done. Maybe it has to do with the mind-set at the time, I don't know, but I can say it has not been as tough as I expected, but it is tough to re-direct the day to day activities that once involved a smoke for each.
0 Kudos
laura39