cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

Joann123

Ready to quit smoking for good

Hello I’m new to this my name is sandy I’m ready to quit smoking my last cigarette was this morning at 7am any one willing to help thank you sandy 

7 Replies
Jennifer-Quit

Lots of help and support available here Sandy.  Welcome to Ex!

It's not easy - I will not lie to you but it is definitely doable - just look at The Elders List - lots of hard work went into this list compliments of Giulia and smorgy8513 but more importantly lots of work and preparation and dedication went into each of these people's  quits. 

• Read and educate yourself about this addiction - understanding it takes away some of the fears and helps you realize that what you are going through is normal.  
  • Make a plan.  Decide what method is best for you.  Cold turkey?  NRT?    Prescription meds?  Lots of opposing views on this - but whatever you decide, make this quit your own.  There are lots of successful quitters here who either went cold turkey, used NRT, or used Chantix or Wellbutrin. The decision is yours!
  • Set a date and commit to it.  I wanted mine to be on the first day of a month - easy to remember - ha - it is the most important date of my life - I will never forget it.  Get rid of all smoking related items - you don't need them anymore.
  • Make of list of things to do besides smoke--things that you enjoy and is not a trigger for you.  I read novels - and I could read for hours without one thought of smoking.  Another tough time for me was after a meal - I chose to brush my teeth after eating rather than smoke.  Other good options - take a bubble bath or shower, walk, do puzzles, play internet games, etc.  Whatever you enjoy.
  • Stay close to this site - the support that I received here helped me tremendously.  Don't be afraid to ask for help.  Reach out to people here - because we have all "been there, done that".