cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

whalenda

Bupropion - Anxious

First I would like to introduce myself, I am new to this. My name is Donna and I have a quit date set for this Friday Dec. 1st. I do have a question for those who may have used bupropion.  I started last Friday and I seem to be very anxious and unable to focus.  If you experienced this what helped you if anything and can I expect this to go away after a period of time.

0 Kudos
24 Replies
YoungAtHeart

Welcome to our community!

Congratulations on your decision to quit smoking.  It is one you will never regret!

I have no experience with Bupropion.  I hope someone who does will chime in.  I do think a call to the doctor who prescribed it might be a good idea.  If it is the cause of your anxiety and inability to concentrate, he/she might be able to prescribe a different aid.

The most important thing you can do right now is to educate yourself on what nicotine does to your body and mind. To that end, I highly recommend Allen Carr's “The Easy Way to Stop Smoking.” This is an easy and entertaining read. You can search for a free pdf of it on the net (copyright enforcement won't allow me to post the link here).

You should also read the posts here and perhaps go to the pages of folks who you think might be helpful. You might visit whyquit.com, quitsmokingonline.com and livewell.com for the good information contained there. @https://excommunity.becomeanex.org/groups/best-of-ex has lots of blogs written by members of this site with their experiences and guidance. You should also do the tracking and separation exercises suggested in My Quit Plan http://www.becomeanex.org/my-quit-plan.php