cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

lindyboo

New to the site, any patch users?

Hello from Atlanta! My name is Lindy, and I have been smoking about a pack a day for 10 years... been contemplating quitting the last 3 years. I recently cut back to 10 smokes, then down to 5, and at this point I started using the nicotine step 2 patch (3 days ago). I have taken about 3 puffs off of coworkers cigarettes in the last 3 days, but am committed as of today to puff no more! I just quit my bartending job in exchange for a nanny position that requires me to be smoke free. This definitely increases my chance of success,  but I also feel the patch is necessary while I'm transitioning. So far I've been noticing all of my psychological triggers and it's crazy how deep my addiction runs! The patch seems to wear off after 7 hours, and last night I took it off at dinner time and was fine until I put one on for work the next morning. Anywho, if anyone out there has successfully used the patch, I would love to hear from you... how long did you use it,  at what point did you taper down,  and do you think it eased your withdrawl? 

Thanks for reading, and lots of love to the veteran quitters and my quitting colleages

15 Replies
elvan

Welcome to EX, I did not use the patch so I cannot help you with that part but there are lots of people here who did.  The psychological triggers are much stronger than the physical ones.  PLEASE remember that smoking really does nothing FOR you, it does not help with anger, sadness, pain, stress...or any other feeling you might experience.  You can come up with healthy distractions now...exercise, deep breathing, drinking lots of cold water, meditation, dancing, singing...any number of distractions that will help you.  Congratulations on your new job as a nanny, that will be MUCH better than bartending for maintaining a quit.  You CAN do this!

Again, welcome.

Ellen