cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give and get support around quitting

nancy_o

Illinois Quitters

Is this still an active group? When I opened this group It says that there are only 3 discussions with them last updated in the spring of 2008. I would love to 'meet' with other Illinoisans trying to stop this nasty habit.
Tags (1)
0 Kudos
56 Replies
hillegal

April 6th is my day. I have lived in Illinois for 24 years and I am 24 years old. I started smoking ten years ago, and feel like i have smoked ten years too long. I am trying to replace my want to smoke with music. i have been playing guitar for ten years and i am hoping to tackle a genre of music once I quit. Acoustic songs of life.
0 Kudos
nancy_o

Welcome Hillegal. I guess it's just you and me on here as I never had a reply to my note on March 23. Congratulations for deciding to stop smoking. I saw your bio and saw where you want to get married but weddings are expensive. I stopped 15 days ago and according to my stop meter I have saved $70.15 (that's smoking 1 pack per day at $4.60). I also saw you were from Belleville. I'm from Herrin - that's down the road from Carbondale and Marion. Actually I work in Carbondale at SIU. You have a GREAT SMOKE-FREE DAY.
0 Kudos
nancy_o

You just have to think positive that yes I can do this. It is not going to be easy though. Is your sweetie also going to quit? I personally feel that would be good for both of you but I am not an expert and am in no position of telling people what to do. Also another thing is keep a sense of humor and go to one of the many sites here at becomeanex.org. I feel blessed to have heard about this. Just remember the yes I can attitude.
0 Kudos
mike4